Halal Vitamins

There’s been a surge of demand for halal vitamins and supplements, and it’s never been easier to find the type of vitamin supplement you’re looking for with a formula that adheres to Islamic law.

Read more

Here you’ll find a wide selection of vitamin supplements, from tablets and syrups to sprays and dissolvable solutions. Whoever it is you’re shopping for, adults or children, there’s a vitamin for everyone, so you can rest assured that they’re getting the same goodness, without compromising religious beliefs.

Popular Products

Are halal vitamins available?

 

With the high demand for halal vitamins and supplements, there’s now a range of choices available for those who follow Islamic law.

 

But there are some haram ingredients when it comes to vitamins, so it’s still important to read the label carefully to ensure you’re getting a product suitable for you.

 

If the label doesn’t explicitly say halal, look to see if it’s vegan - you’ll know that it will be free from animal products, but it might contain alcohol or ethanol.

Featured Products

BetterYou Vegan Health Oral Spray - 25ml

£12.99

Add To Cart

Healthspan ImmunoVit Elderberry Plus - 30 Tablets

£10.79

Add To Cart

Hashmats A-Z Multivitamins - 30 Tablets

£7.99

Add To Cart

Frequently Asked Questions

What does it mean for a vitamin supplement to be halal?

Halal is the Arabic word for ‘permissible’, and food that adheres to Islamic law is known as halal food.

 

In Islam, animals must be slaughtered by a cut to the jugular vein, carotid artery, and windpipe, so all the blood is drained from the carcass.

 

Many vitamins are encased in a soft gel capsule that is made from gelatine, an animal-based product.

 

For a vitamin or supplement to be considered halal, it must be made from an animal product that has been slaughtered following the practice of Islam.

Are gummy vitamins halal?

Gummy vitamins are a popular choice, especially for those who struggle to take tablets, like small children.

 

However, most gummy vitamins are usually made with the animal product gelatine, so you’ll need to look for a vegetarian alternative or a halal-certified product.

 

But these might still contain alcohol, so always read the label carefully to be safe.

Which multivitamin ingredients are haram?

Haram means ‘forbidden’ in Arabic, and many of the ingredients included in popular vitamins, unfortunately, are unsuitable for Muslims.

 

The most common ingredients you’ll need to watch out for are gelatin and alcohol.

 

Gelatin is usually made from pork, which can’t be considered halal.

 

Some products are sourced from cows, but if the label doesn’t mention halal, it’s probably not been slaughtered in adherence to Islamic law.

 

Alcohol is frequently found in liquid supplements, like syrups, so it’s always important to check the label beforehand to ensure they’re okay for you to use.

Can I get halal protein powder?

As whey is created when you make cheese, it’s dependent on if the cultures used to make the cheese are sourced from milk or meat.

 

If both of these ingredients are made from halal milk cultures, then your protein powder is suitable for you.

 

Always check the label on the back of your protein powder to find where the whey is sourced.

Is cod liver oil halal?

Cod liver oil in its raw form is considered halal as it’s derived from fish.

 

But it’s the added ingredients used to turn it into a supplement that might not be halal.

 

To take cod liver oil in its primary form wouldn’t be very nice, so gelatine is usually used to capsule it, an ingredient that is typically sourced from cows or pigs.

 

You may want to try a vegan version of omega 3 instead, but always check the label to ensure it’s halal sourced and contains no haram products.

© 2024 Chemist4U. Innox Trading Ltd, 35-37 Greenhey Place, Skelmersdale, Lancashire, WN8 9SA, GB. All rights reserved. Registered and regulated UK pharmacy with the GPhC (registered premises 9011784). Registered in England No. 07262043 | VAT Registration No. GB140138454