Are Multivitamins Halal?

How to find halal multivitamins and supplements


Finding halal vitamins and supplements is easier than ever as more and more companies realise that there’s such a high demand for Muslim-friendly products.


However, avoiding haram ingredients can be tricky if you’re not sure what to look for, which is why we’re here today.


We’re going to take the mystery out of those long ingredients lists so you’ll be able to pinpoint the ones that will make or break your vitamins and supplements.


Let’s take a look at which multivitamins could be right for you, whether gummy vitamins can be halal, and which ingredients you need to avoid.

blue vitamin capsules on a white table

Which multivitamin ingredients are haram?


The most common ingredients you’ll need to look for when you’re choosing a halal multivitamin are gelatin and alcohol.


The gelatin used to create vitamin capsules is often made from pork, and therefore can’t be considered halal.


Some gelatin is also sourced from cows, but if the packaging doesn’t specifically mention that the supplement is halal then you can be pretty sure that the animals were not slaughtered according to Shariah rules.


Alcohol, often in the form of ethanol, is more commonly found in liquid supplements, like syrups or drops, but it can be included in other formulas too.


You should double-check the ingredients list on all of your vitamins and supplements before you take them to make sure that they don’t contain any haram products, even if you’ve taken the same supplements before.


Manufacturers can sometimes change the ingredients in their products without making it massively obvious, so you should have a quick look at the ingredients list every time you pick up a new pack, just to be safe.

Are gummy vitamins halal?


Gummy vitamins are massively popular, especially with kids who don’t like taking vitamin tablets, but halal versions can be a little tricky to find.


As vitamin gummies are made mostly from gelatine, naturally you’re going to want to be very careful before you try them.


However, there is some good news! Some manufacturers are starting to use vegetarian alternatives in their gummy vitamins.


These are usually made from seaweed, which is totally halal. When you look at the ingredients list, you should keep an eye out for agar-agar and carrageen, which are common veggie gelatine alternatives.


You can also check the packaging to see if your vitamins are halal-certified or specifically state that they are halal-friendly.


Even if your gummy vitamins use vegetarian gelatine, they may still include alcohol, so make sure to be careful to check for that too.

man sitting in the gym making a protein shake

Can I get halal protein powder?


Yes, halal protein powder is available, with whey protein being a popular choice with Muslims who want to make gains in the gym.


However, you’ll still need to be careful as some whey protein powders can be considered haram. It’s all down to how you make the whey protein in the first place.


As whey is made when you make cheese, it depends on whether the cultures used to make the cheese comes from milk or meat.


If the whey and cheese are made from a halal milk culture, the cheese and whey will both be considered halal too and bam, you’ve got your Islam friendly protein.


Again, you’ll need to check the packaging on your protein powder to see where the whey comes from — the ingredients list will usually have the source in brackets right after the whey, if it says milk then you’re onto a winner.


Remember to double-check for other haram ingredients as well, although your protein source is the ingredient that will usually give you the most trouble other ingredients (like that pesky gelatine again) could be included too.




Is cod liver oil halal?


Cod liver oil itself is halal as it comes from fish, which is great because it’s an excellent source of Vitamin A.


That’s simple, but the additives that are included in cod liver oil supplements may not be.


For starters, cod liver oil capsules are one of the most popular ways to take this supplement nowadays (if you’ve ever tasted cod liver oil you’ll know why!) and naturally, these capsules are made from gelatine.


Once again, you’re going to want to check out the ingredients list on your cod liver oil no matter whether you’re using capsules, a liquid formula, or any other type of supplement.


Look out for gelatine made from pigs or cows as well as alcohol or ethanol.

yellow cod liver oil capsules shaped like a fish on a white table

What is a good source of halal vitamin D?


I’ve got some good news and some bad news for you. The good news is that vitamin D is one of the easiest nutrients to find a halal source for, the bad news is that the UK isn’t the best place for it.


Vitamin D is created in your system when sunlight hits your skin, and there’s nothing haram about sunlight!


Unfortunately for all of us here in the UK, sunny spells can be few and far between during the winter months.


The NHS recommends that everyone in the UK should take a vitamin D supplement during autumn and winter to make up for that lack of sun, so you’re going to want to find one that’s right for you.


Again, check the ingredients list, be aware of gelatine and alcohol, and look out for halal certifications on the packaging.




Hopefully, you know a lot more about what to look for in halal vitamins and supplements than you did before!


Remember, always check the ingredients in your supplements and speak to your doctor or pharmacist if you’re ever unsure.




Laura Henderson - Medical Content Writer
James O'Loan - CEO & Superintendent Pharmacist
James O'Loan , CEO & Superintendent Pharmacist on 15 March 2023
© 2024 Chemist4U. Innox Trading Ltd, 35-37 Greenhey Place, Skelmersdale, Lancashire, WN8 9SA, GB. All rights reserved. Registered and regulated UK pharmacy with the GPhC (registered premises 9011784). Registered in England No. 07262043 | VAT Registration No. GB140138454